Phase One

(Does having a blog make me a nerd yet?)

I’ve read enough blogs to get the notion that there should be a purpose to a blog. The purpose of this blog is for me to rave about my conspiracy theories regarding the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Before I jump into that, however, I thought it’d be appropriate to provide my background with Marvel movies and comics.

I was hooked on comic books because of Spider-Man 3. So right off the bat, I already was liking “bad” comic book movies. I started reading the early issues of The Amazing Spider-Man and grew interested in it. At one point, I grew interested in the Avengers as well and picked up Civil War and others. (I never was really fascinated by the X-Men. From the little I’ve seen and heard, there is just way to much time travel/alternate universes for me).

The first movie I saw in the Marvel Cinematic Universe film series was The Incredible Hulk back in 2008. Unlike many (again), I really enjoyed the movie. I’ve watched that movie more times than any other in the series (though, The Avengers is steadily creeping up there). After watching it, I collected the entire 1970s-1980s Incredible Hulk TV series with Bill Bixby. That reinforced me liking the whole forever-on-the-run aspect that the movie stressed. Of course, the most amazing part of the movie, at the time, was the final scene in which Tony Stark approaches General Ross and hints at forming the Avengers.

I didn’t see Iron Man until much later and really didn’t like it all that much. I was told by some that it was “the best movie ever” and while it certainly wasn’t a bad movie, it felt average. There was nothing that really blew me away.

After that, I didn’t really follow the movies much. My friends and brother tried to talk me into seeing Thor and Iron Man 2, but I never really felt like it. However, I did go and see Captain America: The First Avenger and that movie got me excited for The Avengers (also, partly because it was clear that they were serious about making an Avengers movie).

I wasn’t sure whether or not to see The Avengers until one of my friends actually forced me to go see it. I feel that it is probably the best movie I’ve ever seen. Perhaps it was just seeing all the Avengers together in one movie, but that was amazing!

After that, I became obsessed with the movies. Since I owned only The Incredible Hulk, I considered buying the others. However, Marvel announced that they would be releasing all of the Phase One movies in a boxed set and so I decided to tell my parents that that’s what I wanted for my birthday. Cool right? Birthday comes, it’s announced that it would be delayed until Spring 2013. Not cool.

So the easiest remedy was to buy them all and make my own suitcase.

CustomSuitcase

picture002

Since then, I have watched all of the movies many, many times over (more than is probably healthy). With watching these repeatedly, holes in the plot become apparent, but those holes show the plot lying underneath that will probably come to the surface in The Avengers 2 or after.

The movies leave a lot of questions still asked. What happened to Loki between the end of Thor and the start of The Avengers? Where is the Casket of Ancient Winters now? What happened to the Red Skull at the end of Captain America: The First Avenger?

FYI: It should be assumed that there are spoilers for all the released movies. I will be sure to note it if I’m talking about one of the upcoming movies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

